In Partnership with 74

LA Unified sets record with 5 county ‘Teachers of the Year’

Craig Clough | September 22, 2014

Your donation will help us produce journalism like this. Please give today.

Teachers of the Year 2014 LAUSD

The five LA Unified teachers named Los Angeles County “Teachers of the Year” are in the front row, (left to right): Maricar J. Fortuno Calatán, Lovelyn Marquez-Prueher, Isabel J. Morales, Michael A. Morgan, and Hector V. Perez-Roman.

A record five LA Unified teachers have been named Los Angeles County Teachers of the Year for 2014-15.

The honorees are among 16 teachers in the county to receive the award, and they are all now in the running for the California Teacher of the Year award, according to a district press release.

“These teachers represent the best in education. I applaud them all—in particular those from our District,” said LA Unified Superintendent John Deasy in an issued statement. “Good teaching combines art and science. We take pride in our honorees.”

The winners, who were honored at a ceremony Friday at Universal City, were chosen because they are “educators who have shown exemplary dedication, compelling classroom practices, positive accomplishments and professional commitment,” according to the Los Angeles County Office of Education’s website.

LA Unified winners were chosen from 75 candidates who had been honored locally by their school districts. The state winner will then move on to the national competition, which will take place in the spring of 2015.

The L.A. County Teachers of the Year from L.A. Unified are:

Six LA Unified teachers have won the California Teacher of the Year award in past years:

Read Next