In Partnership with 74

LAUSD honors 22 educators as ‘Teachers of the Year’

Aaron Stella | June 18, 2014

Your donation will help us produce journalism like this. Please give today.

The Los Angeles Unified School District honored 22 educators yesterday as the first step in competing for National Teacher of the Year honors in the coming school year.

The LA Unified teachers now compete in a county-wide competition in September, with the winners there going on to the state competition. The nationals follow that.

Among the LA Unified honorees are the winning coach of the national CyberPatriot championship team; award-winning elementary, math and science teachers; creative special education teachers and talented English, world history and government instructors.

“Congratulations to these heroes of the classroom for inspiring their students to achieve great things,” said Superintendent John Deasy. These amazing teachers are the pride of L.A. Unified ”

Below is a list of the teachers of the year:

Angeles Cajayon, Bryson Avenue Magnet Elementary School, has been a second-grade teacher there for 12 years.

Maricar J. Fortuno Catalán, Dr. Julian Nava Learning Academy – Business and Technology, is completing her first year as a seventh-grade, life science/health teacher.

Isagani Celzo, Linda Esperanza Marquez High School – School of Social Justice, has been a math teacher there for two years.

Karen Finkel, Broadacres Elementary School, has been a second grade teacher there for 22 years.

Angel Gaines, Birdielee V. Bright Elementary School, has been a special education teacher there for six years.

Jay Gehringer, North Hollywood High School, is a computer science teacher and has been at that campus for 31 years.

Anne Gonzales, Walnut Park Middle School, an eighth-grade math teacher, has been in her current position for two years.

Kathryn Gullo, East Valley High School, has been an English teacher there for 12 years.

Lisa Quon Heinsen, San Pasqual Elementary School, has been a kindergarten teacher there for three years.

Linda Hoang, Lincoln High School, has been a special education teacher for one year.

JoAnne Huong Khong, Middleton Street Elementary School, has been a sixth-grade teacher there for two years.

Aimee Kiefer, Paseo Del Rey Natural Science Magnet School, has been first grade teacher there for four years.

Lovelyn Marquez-Prueher, Dodson Middle School, has been an eighth-grade English teacher there for two years.

Isabel J. Morales, Robert F. Kennedy Los Angeles High School of the Arts, has taught government, economics and Advanced Placement courses there for six years.

Michael A. Morgan, Bravo Medical Magnet High School, has taught chemistry there for 24 years.

Hector V. Perez-Roman, Arleta High School, has been a world history/Advancement Placement teacher there for 10 years.

Laurence A. Tan, 122nd Street Elementary School, is a fifth-grade teacher and has taught  various grades there for 10 years.

Lester Raul Vasquez, Dr. Julian Nava Learning Academy – School of Arts and Culture, has been a sixth-grade math and science teacher there for three years.

Neil Virani, William Mulholland Middle School, has been a special education teacher there for four years.

Lynnellen Webster, Walgrove Elementary School, has been a fifth-grade teacher there for one year.

Heather Wilson, Bell High School, has been an English teacher there for 11 years.

Hilary Wolcott, Playa Vista Elementary School, has been a third-grade teacher there for two years.

Read Next