In Partnership with 74

Update: Seven States Have “Parent Trigger” Laws

Brianna Sacks | July 3, 2013

Your donation will help us produce journalism like this. Please give today.

parent-trigger1While California was the first state in the nation to adopt the parent trigger law back in 2010, the state is no longer alone.

Since then, an additional six states —  Connecticut, Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, Ohio and Texas — have passed trigger legislation into law, according to a recent overview in Stateline.

Parent trigger laws generally allow parents at low-performing schools to petition their school district for a new principal, new teachers, or conversion to independent charter status.

An additional 25 states currently have different parent trigger laws proposed.  Check out the status of parent trigger laws across the country here.

California remains the only state where the law has been implemented at the school level.

Previous posts: Parent Trigger Coming to LAUSD;Teachers Union Turning Back Against Parent Trigger; School Board’s Strange Parent Trigger About-Face

Read Next