In Partnership with 74

The race is on for 4 LA Unified board seat elections in 2015

Vanessa Romo | December 4, 2014

Your donation will help us produce journalism like this. Please give today.

George McKenna LAUSD CandidateThe deadline for would-be LA Unfied school board candidates to submit nominating petitions passed yesterday, and so far, the City Clerk’s office has qualified nine for the four open seats in 2015.

As of today, all of the incumbents are officially in the running — Board President Richard Vladovic, George McKenna, Bennett Kayser, and Tamar Galatzan. But Manuel Montilla of the LA City Ethic Commission, told LA School Report the office will continue to verify petitions over the next 10 business days.

That means a presumably longer list will be finalized by Dec 17.

“You’ll see a lot more names that qualified as we go through the petitions,” he said, adding that most candidates filed their paperwork just before yesterday’s deadline.

As for McKenna, it looks like he will be running unopposed since the only candidate who filed an initial petition to run against him, Daymond Johnson, did not submit any of the final paperwork by yesterday’s deadline. The City Clerk’s office confirmed that Johnson had not met the deadline, leaving McKenna unopposed.

McKenna only recently joined the board after winning a special election over Alex Johnson in August to replace late board member Margueritte LaMotte, who died in December of 2013.

Here are the qualifying candidates so far:

District 1
George McKenna

District 3
Elizabeth Badger Bartels
Tamar Galatzan
Ankur Patel

District 5
Bennett Kayser
Ref Rodriguez
Andrew Thomas

District 7
Lydia A. Gutierrez
Richard Vladovic

Read Next