In Partnership with 74

LA Unified, teachers union reach agreement on a mentor program

LA School Report | August 8, 2014

Your donation will help us produce journalism like this. Please give today.

LAUSDlogoIn a deal with UTLA, the teachers union, LA Unified said late today it will provide $10,000 stipends that pay for mentor teachers to help instructors at 37 highly-challenged schools.

The mentors qualify for funding over the next three school years at campuses included in the Reed case court settlement. The goal is to reduce high teacher turnover, large dropout rates and low standardized-test scores.

“This additional investment will help the youth at these schools by improving the instructional program,” Superintendent John Deasy said. “Mentor teachers will share their expertise broadly beginning with the new school year and continuing through the 2016-17 school year.”

To help develop their skills, new teachers will receive extra time to work with mentor teachers. At the Reed schools, all teachers will participate in additional professional development. The court settlement requires the additional support and eliminates teacher layoffs based on seniority.

The compromise does not affect the bargaining agreement now under negotiation, with the next bargaining session scheduled for Aug. 21.

The Reed schools are: Audubon Middle; Barack Obama Global Prep Academy; Banning Senior High; Bell Senior High; Berendo Middle School; Canoga Park Senior High; Drew Middle School; East Valley Senior High; Edward R. Roybal Learning Center; Fremont Senior High; Robert Fulton College Preparatory School; Gage Middle School; Gompers Middle School; Huntington Park Senior High; Thomas Jefferson Senior High; John H. Liecthy Middle School; Jordan Senior High; Abraham Lincoln Senior High; Los Angeles Academy Middle School; Manual Arts Senior High; Markham Middle School;  Mendez Math and Science Learning Center; Monroe Senior High; John Muir Middle School; RFK Community Schools—New World Academy; Chester Nimitz Middle School; Panorama Senior High; Roosevelt Senior High School of Communications and Technology; San Fernando Middle School; San Fernando Senior High; San Pedro Senior High; South East Senior High; Sun Valley Senior High; Robert L. Stevenson Middle School; Sun Valley Middle School; West Adams Preparatory Senior High; and Woodrow Wilson Senior High.


Read Next